Gone

He asks me to dance

And I surrender to him

Falling into his arms

I let my body fold

Limp and numb

Moving against and with his

I disregard all sense of

Responsibility

Control

And I let him chase me

Recklessly into darkness

Tasting his lips with mine

I play the game well

Every time your face flashes

Across my blurring mind’s eye

I take a shot

Pull him a little closer

Feel his hands wander places

Places only you’d taken me before

And we’re gone

Stumbling through doorways

Colliding with walls

And all the while clinging

Not to each other’s souls

But to our bodies

He holds my weight

And I dig my fingers a little deeper

Into his skin

Pushing him backward

So we come to rest on a stranger’s bed

Our eyes never meet

And I’m okay with that

He sheds us of our clothing

And in every touch there’s an

Aggression

That makes me think he’s hurting too

We go higher

Faster

Longer

Recovering each other’s weaknesses

Seeing to places that had forgotten

What it’s like to be wanted

And blocking out all senses

But the sense of touch

And when it’s over all that’s left

Is the sweat and skin between us

For a moment we sit with it

Chests heaving

Staring at the spinning ceiling

And then he’s gone

Without a name

Only then do I realize

I’m gone without one too


Leave a comment